Authority for the Founding of the South Jersey Economic Development District, Inc.

Pursuant to the Public Works and Economic Development Act of 1965 and as amended thereafter in 42 U.S.C. § 3121 et seq., the Secretary of Commerce shall “cooperate with States and other entities to ensure that, consistent with national objectives, Federal programs are compatible with and further the objectives of State, regional, and local economic development plans and comprehensive economic development strategies.”  42 U.S.C. § 3131(a).   Additionally, [i]n order that economic development projects of broad geographic significance may be planned and carried out, the Secretary [of Commerce] may designate appropriate economic development districts in the United States, with the concurrence of the States in which the districts will be wholly or partially located, if” certain criteria is met.  South Jersey Economic Development District, Inc. was formed to carry out the mandate of this federal law.

On 14 August 1984, SJEDD filed as a New Jersey Non-Profit Corporation under N.J.S.A. 15A:3-1.  In coordination with each of the member counties, SJEDD is authorized as an established Certified Development Corporation for the four member counties of Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland and Salem.  The Board of Directors consists of county freeholders from each member counties and other private/public individuals.  The SJEDD’s Board of Directors meet at regular times throughout the year to determine and approve economically feasible projects for the four member county region.

Annually and in order to meet the requirements of 42 U.S.C. § 3121 et seq., SJEDD prepares a Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy which is presented to the Department of Commerce, United States Economic Development Administration.